How to Deactivate Threads Account without Deleting Instagram Account
- on Jul 13, 2023
People are usually filled with great pleasure when they hear about new social media app launched. They feels like a great idea to join; after all, it’s usually free. However, when they realized that there’s something missing such as Hashtags, Verify and Privacy, they’ll be willing to back off. If you’ve had enough of Threads, you’d realized that the Meta owned platform is not yet completed. Here are five (5) things to consider before signing up on Threads app.
Launched in July 5, 2023, and since then, Threads app has generated a lot of buzz, getting over 30 million users 24 hours after it’s launched, and now, Threads has gain more than 100 million users globally. Aside the fact that Threads app is linked with Instagram account, people are also leaving Twitter to Threads because of the recently imposed policies that are unbearable for Twitter’s users. Quitting Twitter? Here are best alternative to the bird app.
So, have it in mind that Threads Account cannot be deleted without deleting your Instagram account. You can only deactivate your Threads Profile and re-activate it anytime. Meanwhile, maybe this policy can be changed in the near future – by then, maybe Threads app will have been untied from Instagram.
How to Deactivate Threads Profile
To deactivate Threads account without deleting Instagram account, follow these steps;
- Launch the Threads app on your device (iOS and Android) not compatible with PC for now.
- Tap on your Profile icon that located at the bottom-right corner of your dashboard.
- Tap the Menu icon at the top-right corner of your profile page.
- Next, choose Account and tap on Deactivate Profile.
- Confirm your actions by tapping Deactivate Threads profile.
Then, you’ll receive a pop-up notification stating that “you’ve successfully deactivated your Threads Profile”. Additionally, once your Threads profile is deactivated, you will be logged out of the app and redirected to the login page.
Threads Account Deactivation Policy
As previously stated, Threads is a social media app by Instagram. The social app was built by Instagram teams as an alternate means for Twitter users who have grown impatient with Elon Musk’s handling of Twitter. However, do note that deactivating your Threads Profile is allowed once per week.
Deactivating your Threads profile means your bio, threads, comments, replies, likes, and followers will be temporarily disabled and hidden from the public. Your profile will not be deleted and can be reactivated anytime by logging back in with your username and password.
If you’d rather permanently delete your Meta’s Threads account, there is currently no way to do that without deleting your Instagram account. Detaching Threads social app from Instagram is one of many features Threads needs to be a viable Twitter alternative.
Deactivating your Threads profile might seem like the best option to protect your information and privacy. However, It’ll be more nicer if Instagram could allow users to delete their Threads accounts separately, but that’s not the case now.
You should know now that deleting of Threads Account cannot be possible without deleting your Instagram account. Meanwhile, you can deactivate your Threads Profile without tampering with your Instagram account. Deactivating your Threads profile will only hide your contents such as threads, replies, likes, and followers from all users. However, simply reactivate your account by logging back in with your username and password.